PDA

View Full Version : The Truth about Death Wobble

JeepLab
10-08-2014, 01:24 PM
The Truth about Death Wobble

I like to start with my background. I am not a mechanic. What Ive learned about jeeps has been through trial and error with a lot of outside help from people who know better. My most recent learning experience has been with “Death Wobble”.

I used to think that “death wobble” was loose steering. Like you are trying to stay in your lane on the highway and you would need to correct, then correct again, and struggle to keep your truck driving in a straight line. I got this idea from a video where you can see that the hardware used by JEEP in the trackbar bracket and upper and lower control arms is actually not the size of the holes in those components. So the threads in the factory bolts wear the holes in the trackbar and control arms into ovals. Synergy makes a bolt replacement kit for this exact reason. LINK. Loose steering is not death wobble.

Death wobble is not something you barely notice. If you’re not sure you’ve got it, you don’t have it. When it happens, you know it. It happens all at once and is unmistakeable. Death Wobble is when you hit a bump and the steering wheel will rock back and forth violently and you will not be able to control your rig. You cannot drive through it. You need to pull over and stop completely in order for your truck to regain composure. The first time it happened to me, I hit a pot hole on an off ramp at probably 40 mph, and I swore I blew out 2 tires. I finally got the truck to the side of the road, and hopped out thinking about who I was going to call for help, and to my surprise, all tires were intact.