Close

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Headlight Upgrades...Who's Done What?

Not much of an article here...LOL

I'm just beginning to look into headlight upgrades. I dont want to spend 700 bucks on JW speaker or that kind of price range.

Im looking for an HID kit maybe?

anyone done this already?

I cleaned the mud off my headlights, and that seemed to improve brightness a bit. A lot cheaper than $700.

I have been doing the samething. Only issue I realized is that if you have fog lights... you are going to need to change them as well. HID or even Xenon light kits will make your headlights brighter than you fogs.
    Also there are people who make conversion kits. Prety much just a bolt on system to your original headlight system. Last I heard from a friend they are about 250 a pair. Same guy was able to do fog light conversion as well.

These guys seem to have a good solution,

one kit is 199, the other is 79.

I was thinking of doing the 199 for the headlights, and 79s for the fogs.

http://www.carhidkits.com/50w-resist...-pack-378.html

At least five people I know with JK's went with an HID upgrade kit. 18 months later we have all ripped them out in favour of a true LED headlight. Of all the kits, mine lasted the longest, but eventually they all failed. They were all $200+ kits. The others all went with the second generation trucklites as replacements, but I had KC's new led offering shipped out to me. A brief Internet search lead me to believe that guys who had first hand experience with both brands were leaning towards the KC's so I thought I'd give them a whirl.

The Hid's seem like a cost effective band aid type solution...great idea if you want better light right now, but would rather differ the larger cost of LEDs until next year or so when they fail.

Quote Originally Posted by Anotheruserid View Post